Texas  |  Family Law

question bubble
6/05/11, 6:37 am

Legal Question


My husband and I are currently in the middle of a contested divorce (he committed adultery, abandoned his children for six monthes, and fathered a child during this time). We have been seperated for about a year and a half, and he refuses to sign the papers, because he wants to be able to claim at least one of our two children on income taxes, even though he only sees them a few times every other month, has never called them or shown up for holidays, and never even attempts to see them on his designated Thursday visitations. I recently found out that he bought a house for him and his mistress. My question is, since there is no thing as a legal separation in the state of Texas, would this new house be considered community property if his name is on the mortgage? Am I entitled to any compensation since he bought this house while we are still married?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search