Florida | Tax Law
Legal Question
my husband owe back tax before we got married.we file joint for the last two years and this year i am planning on filing seprate. will the irs take my taxes
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sanford M. Martin |
You are not liable for previous taxes owed by your husband. You may file jointly and include the form called Injured Spouse Allocation Form 8379 to avoid paying any taxes owed by him. Or, you can file separately but your taxes of you and your husband may be greater than filing a joint return. Check the IRS website for form 8379 or discuss it with your tax preparer. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
The Shigo Law Firm, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Law Offices of John DeLancett, PL.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 135
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


