Texas  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/24/11, 9:59 am

Legal Question


My husband and I are separated. We lived in Texas for a number of years until the time of our separation. He is still there. I'm now in Georgia. He is refinancing the house we shared in TX, so that the mortgage will be in his name only. The refinancing names me as "grantor." What does this mean? We have paid about 12 years on a 20-year loan. How should the funds in equity be distributed since he's telling me he'll split them with me? Is it possible to have the bank cut two checks since I don't trust him to cash the check and send me my portion of the money?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search