India | Criminal Law
Legal Question
My husband had sex with my house maid an year ago, as a result of which she conceived. I was told false stories and made to believe that she had a boy friend who had sex with her and is now refusing to take ownership. I tried to help but she said that he is not tracebale etc. I asked her to tell her family but she refused and told me that," Didi, since I am a Muslim and my BF is a Hindu my family will kill me." So I helped her delivering the baby. I called her mother to the hospital and was really surprised to see that she was completely non emotional, I suspected that she knew about it. Later I got to know that her entire family had been blackmailing my husband to pay money etc. She also blackmailed my father inlaw saying if they do not pay she would tell me about it. My husband says it was consensual sex and he gave her contraceptives after the episode which she did not take. Also he tried to help her abort the child but she did not do it. She was 22 years of age. I also found it strange that her mother took the baby away from her on the first day itself. what can we do?


