California  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
1/24/12, 9:44 pm

Legal Question


My husband will be starting on interferon treatments for his liver.

Since we are married, his doctor refuses to start treatment since he fears the risk of pregnancy. Not only does the doctor want us to use "double prophylactics" (condom, birth control), he also wants ME to authorize and forward my personal medical history to his office.

I AM NOT A PATIENT OF THIS DOCTOR and I do not see the need to provide my medical records to him because he worries about a "possible, potential future" of liabilities of birth defects.

I have medical issues myself (1st stages of menopause) and the chances of conceiving are slim to none.

We offered to sign a waiver releasing this doctor from the liability if we were to conceive and have a baby born with birth defects, but he refused and insists on my medical records as well as taking a pregnancy test every few weeks before he proceeds with the treatment.

Although condoms will be used, we are of catholic faith and the church frowns on birth control.

My husband has been on this treatment before without complications.

In short, the doctor refuses a life-threatening treatment because he wants to be sure I don't become pregnant. We are also being singled out because we are married compared to other patients who have much greater health risks.

What are our legal rights?

Thank you,

K. Nolan


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search