California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
iam a 88yr old women I hired a publishing co too pub&sell my books for me I have not recived any royalties in 12yrs I reLISE THE STATUE OF LIMITATIONS HAS PROBELY RAN OUT .but how do I cancel my contract & stop him from selling any more of my books on the enternet
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
First, this is not a bankruptcy law question, unless you intend to file bankruptcy in which case you may have some rights with respect to the termination of an executory contract (such as the publishing agreement). You can send the publisher a letter indicating that you are terminating their rights to the publication, but without actually reviewing the contract you signed, it is impossible in this forum to properly advise you what the notice requirements and other conditions to cancellation might be. You need to retain an attorney familiar with intellectual properties, and discuss both the issue of royalties as well as termination of the publishing agreement. This may rise to the level of theft or misappropriation of your materials, but I just do not know enough about intellectual properties (publishing rights, etc...) to give you a concrete answer. I do not believe you will find anyone on this forum who specializes in intellectual properties, so you really do need to consult with a specialist.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


