Massachusetts | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I have an idea for a television show and want to pitch my idea to some companies. What do I have to do to protect it so that I can pitch my idea?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
This can be tricky, because you want the other party to consider your idea, but not be scared away by an advance, pre-submission agreement preventing them from taking/using your idea without compensating you. On the other hand, without an advance agreement memorializing that the idea is yours and presented to them as a business proposal for their review, "ideas" are not generally protectable. As a result, they are often taken or used without the owner's permission. Absent an adequate (but simple) business arrangement in advance, there is usually little the "owner" can do about it.
Sophisticated companies know a pre-disclosure agreement is commonplace in this area and should be open to negotiating simple terms to define the arrangement and protect you. If they don't want to do this, that could be a sign the have bad intentions, and probably you wouldn't want to do business with such entities anyway.
In short, a sufficient pre-disclosure agreement can be put together and (usually) negotiated in advance of submitting the idea without a lot of legal expense. I strongly recommend doing so; Usually the cost is well worth it to protect you (otherwise unprotectable) idea.
Good luck. Call if you would like to discuss.
|
Top Attorneys in MA
Gregory P. Lee, Attorney at Law
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1293
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Coolidge & Graves PLLC
Keene, NH
Questions Answered: 792
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Offices of Jerril J. Krowen
Topsfield, MA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-01-18
LEGIST FORT
Calcutta, NUS
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-25
Swiggart & Agin, LLC
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-01
Search Questions and Answers


