California | Business Law
Legal Question
I have certain ideas that are that serve as the back bones for the businesses I am starting. When making a business many people write these ideas into very specific business plans that describe how the organization will behave within the scope of the next, say, ten years; along with a big list of other projections.
My question is: Can a person copyright a business plan, or certain function of their business, that is unique and revolutionary?
I am trying to prevent people from taking new and original ideas and using them for a profit without me. I have used nondisclosure and non-competition agreements before but many have said that they are not very effective in California and that the best way to protect my plans are through patent law, which would not be applicable to much of what I do.


