California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
!.) Is it illegal to charge a late fee for paying rent late
§1671. Validity of Liquidated Damages Provisions
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
This is an issue people have been arguing about for a very long time. In the context of a residential lease or rental agreement, internet folk-lore seems to be asserting that Civil Code § 1671(d) makes late fees illegal or unenforceable. The problem, however, is the last sentence of subparagraph (d) which is used by landlord pretty regularly to legally enforce late-fee provisions. I've never seen a Court side with a tenant on this particular issue and deny the landlord recovery of late fees in addition to rent. Conversely, most landlords in unlawful detainer litigation are advised to only seek recovery of rent in unlawful detainers - the late fees simply cloud the issue. So, if you were to pay your rent, but refuse to pay late fees, you could attempt to assert CC § 1671(d) as a defense to the eventual eviction by the landlord over the unpaid late fees, but I would not bet the farm on a judge ruling in your favor.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. Further, information you provide to the Firm through this website is not confidential - it is available publicly to anyone visiting this website. The Firm shall have no obligation to keep the information you provide herein confidential in any context. The information provided herein by the Firm is general, and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10394
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


