Virginia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Is it illegal in Virginia to pay for sexual contact or pleasure that is not sexual intercourse? I heard that sexual conduct involving the hand, breasts, or other body parts is not illegal even for pay.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jonathon Moseley |
First, it is important to understand that Counties and cities often have laws different from State law. So in Counties and States there are many laws against loitering to solicit a prostitute, using a car in aid of prostitution, etc., which might apply, even if State law does not apply.
So this answer only applies to Virginia State law generally.
Under State law, strangely, although Virginia is rather strict on most things of this nature, prostitution in Virginia consist only of paying money (or its equivalent) for (a) sexual intercourse (b) anal sex or (b) oral sex (sex by the mouth). (The law also prohibits bestiality and incest)
Technically, any other behavior or contact does not qualify as prostitution.
So technically, it would be legal for a woman to take money, or a man to pay for, sexual gratification involving hands, breasts, feet, etc.
Virginia law under Va. Code § 18.2-346 is based upon (1) adultery (which is defined as sexual intercourse) (2) fornication (which is defined as sexual intercourse) or (3) a violation of Va. Code § 18.2-361, which prohibits anal sex and oral sex (sex by the mouth) or bestiality or incest.
So unless there is an offer to pay money for sexual intercourse or anal sex or sex with the mouth, it does not qualify as prostitution under Virginia law.
However, be aware that the police, a prosecutor, or a judge may not interpret your case quite so narrowly. Even though conduct does not technically fit the statutory definition, the prosecutor may still try to get a conviction.
|
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Moseley & Associates Law Firm
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 641
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Fredrick S. Kaufman, Esquire
Glen Allen, VA
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-28
sheryl shane, attorney at law
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 434
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Regency Legal Clinic
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
The Law Office of Susan E. Allen, PLLC
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-23
Search Questions and Answers


