Virginia | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Immigration/Naturalization Question: I would like a clarification on how long a person has to wait before applying for US Citizenship. My girlfriend used to be married and divorced soon after receiving her permanent residency in the US. She has a permanent resident green card.
1. Now that she is divorced, she has to wait 5 years before applying for citizenship. Is this 5 years from when she was granted her provisional residency or 5 years from the date on her permanent resident card?
2. I heard that if she and I marry, that the "timeclock" starts over again and now she has to wait longer than the 5 years to apply for citizenship. What happens to her wait for citizenship application if we should get married?


