California | Securities Law
8/02/11, 11:27 am
Legal Question
what is the importance of form interrogatories 17.1?
How is form interrogatories 17.1 used with a Request for Admission?
Helen
what is the importance of form interrogatories 17.1?
How is form interrogatories 17.1 used with a Request for Admission?
Helen
|
Read More Answered By: Stan Stern |
Dear Helen,
It is very important. First, you state the requests for admission. Then, form interrogatory 17.1 permits you to obtain the facts, contentions, evidence on the issues on which their denials are based. So this way you get to find out the basis of their positions on the disputed issues.
Wishing you the best of luck. Stan Stern ssternesq@aol.com 310-487-9834 |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Form Interrogatory 17.1 asks the responding party to state, for each request for admission which is not answered with an unqualified admission, the following: (a) the number of the request; (b) all facts upon which the response is based; (c) the names, addresses and telephone numbers of all persons having knowledge of those facts; and (d) to identify all documents and other tangible things that support the response and the name, address and telephone number of the person who has each document or thing.
Making a full response to 17.1 can involve a very large burden for the responding party and its attorney. Therefore, a 17.1 request is sometimes used for the negative purpose of burdening the responding party with work and expense.
On the other hand, the Judicial Council didn't adopt 17.1 to encourage attorneys to be jerks. It can serve a very useful role in extracting evidentiary material, or leads to evidence, when properly used (including honest, heads-up responses). If a Request for Admission is worth making, then it's probably a good idea to serve a 17.1 request along with it, or them. That way, when the other party denies that the light was red, you'll also find out whether the party claims it was green, or admits that it was yellow but not yet red, or maybe asserts that it was burned out. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
► To whom do I address a complaint regarding distribution of settlements for a...
► Where can we complain about a determination by Rust Consulting re: Juniper...
► Is it legal for a casino to send you promos without consent to send to your new...
► A company with one class of stock and 75 shares of stock wants to raise money by...
► I have been working for a registered investment advisor for over 3 years. It was...
► "could it be possible for an illegal immigrant in USA get a Canadian visa? if...
► My question is about proof of ownership of stock. I developed intellectual property...
More Securities Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press