California | Wills and Trusts
12/25/11, 10:07 am
Legal Question
Am i able to include my pension in my will and distribute it to more than one person
Am i able to include my pension in my will and distribute it to more than one person
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
You have to look at the documents that create the pension to see if there is any survivor benefit and if you can name those people separately in your Will. The pension probably requires you to name someone at the time of signing the pension papers [with the right to substitute in other names] |
|
Read More Answered By: ROBERTA AVRUTIN |
If your particular pension allows you to name someone to receive money after you die, and you named someone, and that person outlives you, then that is the person who will be entitled to the death benefit, regardless of what your will says. You are entitled to leave the death benefit to one or more people and to decide which person should receive what percentage of the benefit. You should also consider what you want done with any portion of the death benefit if the person you named dies before you. These instructions have to be prepared very carefully. The pension forms are usually give you one or two choices. They aim for solutions that are easy for their clerks to understand. Sometimes, none of these choices will accomplish what you want. In my opinion, it will be worth your while to take your papers to a trusts and estates lawyer, who can help you ensure that the right people will be entitled to the benefits. Best, Roberta Avrutin, Esq., 323.653.3900 ext 115. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
► I was name as a beneficiary in a trust along with several other individuals. I...
► My sisters are executors of my dad`s trust ,do I have legal rights to know how they...
► I am going to inherit a small amount (less than $500K). The estate is in Indiana and...
► My grandmother passed in April 2011. Her estate was less than $100k and the process...
► My half brother and sister are co conservators for my late grand mother. How long do...
► How can an executor of a living trust step down? What is the procedure needed to...
► My father's will left the estate to to split between his 4 children but my sister is...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press