Minnesota | Bankruptcy
10/12/11, 8:27 pm
Legal Question
are individual retirement accounts exempt in chapter 7 bankruptcy?
are individual retirement accounts exempt in chapter 7 bankruptcy?
|
Read More Answered By: Nathan Hansen |
Yes.
Nathan Hansen 651-704-9600 |
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
There are exemptions both under the Federal and State exemptions in Minnesota for IRAs and 401Ks. The state exemptions have some dollar limits, but they are relatively high.
The most important thing you should know, however, is that retirement accounts are usually not part of the bankruptcy estate. That means that the trustee can't have them even if they are not claimed as exempt.
The bankruptcy estate is the pot of assets which the trustee in a Chapter 7 tries to put together and out of which the trustee is supposed to pay something to the creditors. I consider it my job to make sure that pot stays empty if that's at all possible.
This response is for general information purposes only, does not create an attorney-client relationship and is not legal advice. Please consult the attorney of your choice concerning the details of your case. |
Minnetonka, MN
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-13
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-21
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-02-03
► I have two questions. 1. we are in chapter 13 and our kids are now getting to...
► Can one spouse file bankruptcy without it effecting the other spouse, if it's only...
► I have been divorced 3 years now. the house and 2nd loan on the windows, along with...
► With a two person household with only one wage earner, can they be garnished?
► My spouse and I are going to file a chapter 13 and due to our income level will have...
► If one is considering marriage after filling chapter 13 bankruptcy are there any...
► In bankruptcy procedings is it possible to keep a duplex which I live in?
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Minnesota| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press