Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
if you are injured in a food store slipping on wet surface is the suit filed in maryland where fall occurred or in Penn where corporate headquaters are located. Neg laws differ between the two states
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
There is jurisdiction to sue in either state. However, if you sue in PA, the corporation could seek a dismissal on a legal theory called forum non conveniens. This is Latin for "inconvenient place to litigate because the event and witnesses are elsewhere". Also, presumably your witnesses, including health care providers, are local, so you would have a logistical problem if you had to produce these witnesses in PA. In MD, to prevail in this kind of case, you must prove that the store knew or should have known about the dangerous area and failed to correct it in a timely manner. This is often very hard to prove in a food store, where customers are constantly coming and going and spills are a somewhat common occurrence. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Search Questions and Answers


