Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Can your insurance companny force you to settle a claim if you made a verbal promise, and found out later this was a mistake to settle and you changed your mind?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Solomon |
It depends on the circumstances of the settlement. Was this a claim for property damage or personal injury? Was this dispute in court? Generally, no setlement is official until you actually sign a written release. A verbal agreement to accept a property damage settlement would generally not be binding in the case of a mistake, and they would have to take you to court to enfore the settlement. On the other hand, if you were trpresented by an attorney and he verbally accepted a settlement with the insurance company on your behalf, then you migh be stuck with it, and your only choice would be to sue the lawyer, but this would be difficult if you initially gave the lawyer permission to settle for a specific amount. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 235
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


