California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
4/16/11, 8:30 pm

Legal Question


I am interested in starting my own company, and I will need to hire someone to create basic sketches for web pages and characters. I am looking to commission an artist, but I don't know all of the agreements that I need to have in place in order to ensure protection for me and my future company. My company is in the very early stages, and nothing has been set up for it yet. I am simply looking to hire a freelance artist to create ideas for what the site might look like.

The forms I assume I'll need are a Non-Disclosure Agreement, and an agreement that says that I have the rights to anything that the artist is hired to create. Are there any other documents that I would need? Do I need to draft a form regarding payment, or is a verbal agreement good enough for now (I would probably pay half up front, and the other half upon completion of the work). For the NDA and release form, can you refer me to a template or example so that I can draft one specific to my company?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search