Arizona | Business Law
Legal Question
I issused stock purchase agreements that were signed by both parties and now one of the parties does not want to purchase the stock (in a LLC) and I agree to terminate the purchase. How do you terminate a stock purchase agreement?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
Well first I am answering this question based only on the facts given. Facts have a way of "coming out of the woodwork" and changing the analysis. While legal principles apply, one fact can change everything. That being said, there are two ways to cancel the agreement: (1) the formal way is by doing a "cancellation" or "termination" agreement, Because it is so short even this formal agreement should cost under $500.00. And, (2) the informal way is to just have the two parties write "canceled" as of this date by the parties, then sign and date. A typed and hand-written signature would be good and a witness or notary to confirm the transaction would be even better. Generally ,if it is a "big dollar" contract I would have someone review the agreement and terminate it according to its terms. If it is not, then the "canceled" should do it. One thing we have not discussed is your rights under the agreement. So, we kind of jumped to the "cart" without talking about the "horse." |
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1355
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
zimmermann nielsen & colleagues
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 148
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-28
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Search Questions and Answers


