California | Technology Law
Legal Question
is jail breaking an iPad 2 legal with the cydia download?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
What do you mean, "legal"? Apple Computer would say that "jailbreaking" (gaining root access to) your iPad is a breach of your contract with them. Some consumer groups argue that Apple's terms of service constitute an "unconscionable" contract and consumers should not be held to it, after all it is your device not Apple's. As a practical matter, 1) you don't have the money to win a legal fight with Apple, and 2) Apple has technological means to break your iPad if you jailbreak it. (They almost certainly would not sue you or do anything else to you to enforce their terms of service other than pushing a software update to your iPad that breaks it.) "Closed architecture" is the way Apple has always done business (for example this is why there are no Mac clones). If you don't like being in jail, as it were, buy only open-architecture systems such as some tablet computers and operating systems made by other manufacturers/developers. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12208
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


