Washington | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I have a job in another state and have to break by lease, what is the law regarding such
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Vasquez |
if your break your lease, you are in breach of the lease agreement for which depending on the language in the lease the landlord can seek damages against you. Best practice is to inform the landlord of your situation, and try to work out a deal by which you are let out of your lease. Some landlords will agree to let you out of the lease if you pay a certain percentage of the remainder of the lease, or find another tenant to take over the remainder of your lease. In either case, you should provide your landlord sufficient notice, i.e. at least 20 days before the end of the current rental period. |
Top Attorneys in WA
The Pacific Law Firm, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Preble Law Firm, P.S.
Olympia, WA
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Baner & Baner
Tacoma, WA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
In Pacta, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-15
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Thuong-Tri Legal Services, PLLC
Renton, WA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-03
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Search Questions and Answers


