Nevada | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
• What is a "joint case"?
• What are some of the reasons for initiating an involuntary bankruptcy against a debtor?
• When should a noticed motion be filed?
• When may a notice period be shortened?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Dorothy Bunce |
A joint case is a case where husband & wife file together.
The requirements for involuntary cases are set out in federal law, 11 USC section 303. The requirements are complicated. Very few involuntary cases are filed as the punishment for filing an involuntary case that isn't justified can be substantial.
A motion & its notice should be filed together. Notice may be shortened if the facts warrant is as described in local rule 9006 & FRCP 60(b).
I would urge you to retain competent representation if you are considering pursuing this course of action. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
A Fresh Start
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 330
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
John Peter Lee, Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Search Questions and Answers


