Michigan | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
I have a judgement against two people in Oregon. How do I follow through with this and receive the property that was won. I live in Michigan.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William Stern |
You have to get the Michigan judgment certified. Then you take the Michigan judgment and start suit in Oregon, asking the Oregon court to give full faith and credit to the Michigan judgment. You then have to serve the summons and complaint in the Oregon case on the defendants.They will have time to answer. You then motion it up for summary disposition requesting entry of judgment based upon the Michigan judgment. Once you have the Oregon judgment, you have to follow through with what is allowed in Oregon to collect, such as attachment of property and garnishment. However, if you have a Social Security number of a defendant, you can request that tax refunds be paid to you. That is available from any state. |
Top Attorneys in MI
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2486
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
William Stern, P.C.
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1935
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Legal Data Services, PLC
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Law Offices of Rochelle E. Guznack, PLLC
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 696
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-18
Stuart M. Collis, P.C.
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Law Office of Blake P. Lipman
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 447
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Law Offices of Jules N. Fiani
Howell, MI
Questions Answered: 414
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-16
THE MICHIGAN LEGAL TEAM, P.C.
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 265
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-05
Search Questions and Answers


