Georgia | Criminal Law
2/07/12, 9:18 am
Legal Question
What kind of sentence In the state of Georiga theft by taking and theft by deception have
What kind of sentence In the state of Georiga theft by taking and theft by deception have
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Lewis |
Felony theft and/or theft by deception carries a maximum of ten years. The most likely punishment is a function of the accused's criminal history, the value of what was taken,the age of the victim, the prosecutor, the judge and the skill and experience of the defense attorney. See website on plea offers under FAQ: www.lawrencelewispc.com. Good luck. |
|
Read More Answered By: George Creal |
The short answer is - it depends. Generally, if the property which was the subject of the theft exceeded $500.00 in value, by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than ten years. See, OCGA 16-8-12(a)(1). The Theft statute has alot of other potential aggravating factors depending on the specific facts of the theft. See, OCGA 16-8-12 for details. Many theft crimes can be construed as violations of other statutes so there may be other more serious consequences. You need to hire a lawyer. If the property is valued at less than $500 it is a misdemeanor. But what is value really and how do you prove it beyond a reasonable doubt? |
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8778
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 529
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Cartersville, GA
Questions Answered: 237
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-03-13
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Richmond Hill, GA
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-22
► My purse was stolen while I was at work and nothing was done to prevent this from...
► My ex-girlfriend is picketing my business from the sidewalk in the front of my...
► Can you go to jail for calling someone a nigger . seneareo: if i am in an arguement...
► I was caught with theft of over 4000 dollars. This is a first offence. Will I go to...
► What is the usual time served for being involoved with sneaking contraband into a...
► How long does it take to receive a court date affter the case has been handed over...
► Is it a violation of law for an attorney to advise their client not to return a...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Georgia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press