California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/29/11, 1:26 pm

Legal Question


I was laid off from a union job April 1 2011 due to slow business. From what I was told I did nothing wrong and I would be called back to work when business increased. I did receive a call on October 14 from the CEO, he said the company was NOT signing a new union contract in December when the current one ends and if I was interested in the job with new terms I agreed and he said he would call me in a week or so. It now has been over a month and I have not received any call. I now learn from a former co-worker/friend that the company has hired a non-union worker to do my previous job, when my friend asked why hire & train someone new he was told the new guy is "cheaper". Isn't this wrongful termination? Is it legal not to mention against contract to replace union employees with non-union employees? What rights do I have?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search