Oklahoma  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
1/02/12, 10:28 am

Legal Question


Landlord trying to charge us in advance for re-carpeting his single family unit before we even move out, We have not even shown any sort of sign of wanting to relocate and his is stating "Well I am just protecting my investment, and lets just say you get a job in another state and leave without notice and don't give a forwarding address, you would be leaving me "holding the bag" and your deposit wont cover the cost of carpeting" I assured him I have a stable job that keeps me in the area and IF in the event that I was to depart the area that this would be done legitimately and that I felt the carpet should be something that I pay for when/if I vacate not in advance due to him wanting to charge me $1600.00 for new carpet and then he could just get them professionally cleaned and make his pockets much fatter and leave me standing with my hands in the air.

My wife, my 3 children (under the age of 5) and I have lived in his house for over 2 years and have never been late on rent period. and lease has expired since 2010 over this period of time we have only called him 5 times for things such as air conditioner and plumbing issues, which 3 of the times we paid for or reimbursed him.

Any advice?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search