Washington  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
2/06/12, 2:32 am

Legal Question


Law Guru,

Four years ago I was detained for shoplifting twice in two different cities. I was suffering from depression and was taking a drug called Mirapex to help me sleep. I turns out the drug was found to seriously lower judgement and inhibitions causing to become more susceptible to shoplifting, gambling and other destructive behaviors. I sought counseling with a therapist and a psychologist to help me get control of my life. I was assigned something like 75 hours of community service, which I performed at an animal rescue organization by the name of Pasado's Safe Haven near Sultan, WA. I turned in all the documentation for my hours at the courthouse in Bellevue, WA.

So now I would like to get my record expunged, if possible. Do I need an attorney or can I do this myself? Or would that be a bad idea? If I could do it myself are their certain procedures I need to follow or forms to fill out? If I need an attorney what is the best way to find an appropriate one that I can afford?

I thank you for your time and hope to hear from you.

Stefanie Ray y Velarde


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search