Nigeria  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/11/08, 9:44 am

Legal Question


Which Laws to Buy Offshore Business Assets?

I am in talks with some Chinese shipping companies who intend to sell their business assets (oil tankers, etc). I plan to buy these ships once we agree on terms.

However, how do I get a legally binding agreement with them that can be enfornced internationally?What are the international laws that will ensure a smooth deal? What part does a lawyer play in the whole negotiation?

Particularly payment terms. How do I have a sort of escrow that can keep funds pending the fulfillment of all necessary modalities?

Expecting your response.

Winston


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search