New Mexico | Criminal Law
Legal Question
what are the laws about protecting my property, like will i get in trouble for pointing a firearm at some to make them leave my yard not firing a shot
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Aspinwall |
The action you describe constitutes an "assault with a deadly weapon" in New Mexico, and is a serious felony. You may not point a firearm at anyone unless you reasonably believe that person intends and has the ability to cause you or a close family member death or serious bodily harm. You are best advised to use the legal system, report trespassers to law enforcement, and leave the firearm in the gun safe. |
Top Attorneys in NM
Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC
Los Lunas, NM
Questions Answered: 3300
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Law Offices of Dennis W. Montoya
Rio Rancho, NM
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-22
Turner Law Office
Deming, NM
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-17
The Kassakhian Law Office
Gallup, NM
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-15
Khayoumi Law Firm
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-28
Rudolph B. Chavez, Attorney at Law
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
BIKHMAN & VINBAYTEL PC
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
New Mexico Legal Group, P.C.
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


