Minnesota | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
A lawsuit was filed recently against an online store run by someone I know. This person I'll call 'Ann', created the store herself to make some extra money, found a wholesaler to go through and made a little home made website. Ann listed what she thought were real Coach handbags on this website and eventually sold one. Turns out, a Coach representative purchased the handbag and shortly after Ann had a 2 million dollar lawsuit filed against her store from Coach. Ann was unable to attend the hearing which was several states away to defend herself due to lack of funds. The hearing ended up with Coach settling on $800,000.00. Ann profited $12.00...yes twelve dollars, on the handbag she sold. She had several other ones for sale as well, which of course were all taken down when the lawsuit was filed. What will happen to Ann? Since the lawsuit was filed in the stores name and not her own, will it affect her home and personal property? The store no longer exists. The store had not and will not ever file a business tax return because little to no money was ever made on the store. How will Coach get their money? The business address is of course her home address, will they put a lien against her personal home for their money if it's not paid? How many months can you go without paying before they take drastic measures? WIll they garnish her wages and personal tax returns?


