California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/30/11, 7:49 pm

Legal Question


Should I get a Lawyer for Arbitration?

Former employer says if I bring one, they will bring an attorney too.

Would it be better to consult an attorney and make a written submission and not to take an attorney to the the court?

Wrongful termination, Retaliation and harassment.

I was a w-2 employee with an end date (under a yr). Possible blanket discrimination too since they hired contractors without any screening process (prob because they were giving my manager a kick-back). I didn't know of manager's involvement until I started asking questions about payment for excessive hrs (which I needed to approve). Then I learnt I was on a probation (not in the offer letter)! Manager still refused to work on a yearly review stating my work is shorter than a yr. So I am neither FTE or a contractor (no payment for extra hrs).

After termination, I went through internal appeal - both times I was knocked down - it appears they are documenting to protect them. Second review has things that were not stated in the first review (written form - possibly proof for putting things in my file to protect themselves).

Thanks for free help. I need it. Its been hard.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search