Maine | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
if a lawyer represents a couples minor child in a settlement of a personal injury claim can he represent one of the couple aganainst the other in a parental rights action
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerome Gamache |
That is an area where the obvious first impression is that there is a conflict, but depending on the situation, the extensive or limited information exchanged during the course of the representation of the child, etc. it could possibly be ethical.
If this is a situation that has actually developed and you are the parent who is now faced with your child's atty representing the other parent against you, I urge you to contact the Board of Overseers of the Bar to discuss as it is their function to address these issues. Your call to them would be confidential. The tel is 623-1121 |
Top Attorneys in ME
Ainsworth Thelin & Raftice, P.A.
South Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 682
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-05
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Marchese Injury Law, P.A.
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 133
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Alan R. Nye Law Offices
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-14
Law Office of Heidi M. Pushard
Lewiston, ME
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Lawsuit Financial Corporation
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Law Office of Hal S. Weisberger
Augusta, ME
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-12-27
Search Questions and Answers


