Colorado | Business Law
Legal Question
I was leasing property that I remodeled into a 3 star restaurant. My lease stated that if there was damage to any part of the building I would not have to pay rent until the repairs were made. I rented building in the winter heat worked fine. I went on the roof during remodeling and noticed that the only a/c unit had extensive damage to it along with the roof. I called the landlord. He called the insurance company. The insurance company issued him a check for the replacement of the havc unit and repairs to the roof. The repairs were never done. I tried to tell him that he needed to make repairs and he said that I was responseable for maintaining the havc unit. I still was paying rent. I finally had to close because he said I owed him rent and evicted me. Before the eviction the temp. in the restaurant rose to over 100 degrees and customers were leaving. I went to court for the evection and the landlord gave me no credit for moneies paid. I transfered it to district court and he has done nothing. I did vacate the building and have had no income. What if anything can I do? They are closing on the sale of the building tomorrow the 10th of January 2012. Please help me. Thank you


