Massachusetts | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
What exactly does this mean? "If he leaves no issue, and no father, mother, brother or sister, and no issue of any deceased brother or sister, then to his next of kin in equal degree; but if there are two or more collateral kindred in equal degree claiming through different ancestors, those claiming through the nearest ancestor shall be preferred to those claiming through an ancestor more remote."
The reason I ask is because I am a descendant of a woman that passed away in 2008 in Massachusetts with no will, no spouse or children. My Father was to receive an inheritance, but he passed away in 2004.
I was told by the attorney for one of the descendants that Mass law does not go in succession. In other words, because my father passed away, his portion of the inheritance does not trickle down to his issues. Is this true?


