Illinois  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/03/12, 2:35 am

I left my ex husband 4 years ago. Prior to leaving I informed my landlord and she notated it and placed it with the lease. She also went into the property and inspected it. Now 4 years later I find that there is an eviction on record with my name on it from this. He had not paid any bills after I left causing the eviction. What can I do to protect myself and or fix this issue for myself?

1 Answer


Answered on: 6/03/12, 3:55 am by Walter Palmer

I assume you are concerned about your credit history. Send a letter to one of the credit reporting agencies explaining what happened. You cannot have things in a credit report changed but you can explain them.

Keep these two thing in mind: With the housing meltdown, eviction is less of a distinction than it might have been before and when there has been a divorce there are financial problems and there have been more divorces than evictions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Walter Palmer 159 Pamela Drive South Chicago Heights, IL 60411

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search