New York | Business Law
Legal Question
is it legal for a costumer to ask a contractor for origal receipts on building material and payroll reciepts what he paid his employees when it was agreed on by the man hour
is it legal for a costumer to ask a contractor for origal receipts on building material and payroll reciepts what he paid his employees when it was agreed on by the man hour
|
Read More Answered By: Patrick Tracy |
The general answer is no if a time and material agreement was the choice of agreement. |
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Markowitz |
Mr. Tracy has no idea what he is talking about. Of course you may ask for receipts especially if the work was performed under a home improvement contrct. NY General Business Law section 771(f) and (g) sets forth the following:
(f) If the contract provides for one or more progress payments to be paid to the home improvement contractor by the owner before substantial completion of the work, a schedule of such progress payments showing the amount of each payment, as a sum in dollars and cents, and specifically identifying the state of completion of the work or services to be performed, including any materials to be supplied before each such progress payment is due. The amount of any such progress payments shall bear a reasonable relationship to the amount of work to be performed, materials to be purchased, or expenses for which the contractor would be obligated at the time of payment.
(g) If the contract provides that the home improvement contractor will be paid on a specified hourly or time basis for work that has been performed or charges for materials that have been supplied prior to the time that payment is due, such payments for such work or materials shall not be deemed to be progress payments for the purposes of paragraph (f) of this subdivision, and shall not be required to be deposited in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (e) of this subdivision.
Mike. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7774
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
► Can you list the fixed and variable cost of mid size law firm?
► How can I have a partner step down and still continue with the business. There is no...
► A customer is suing for work done on her car done at my repair shop. She had sent...
► The USA$750,000.00 is garantie 100%, if We pay $2,800 to $3200 down and the balance...
► I will like to know how does a case flow through the state system as well as the...
► My company is requiring me to obtain a credit card for business expenses only. Is it...
► I was the half owner of an llc, my partner dissolved the company without my...
More Business Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press