Illinois | Social Security Law
Legal Question
If a legal guardian for two boys,pass away can the children be entited to her SSA ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Kenneth Goetz |
I believe the Act requires one more step: adoption. The most common situation is a grand parent that supports a grandchild. The following is from SSA's website: Who can get child's benefits? Your child can get benefits if he or she is your biological child, adopted child or dependent stepchild. (In some cases, your child also could be eligible for benefits on his or her grandparents’ earnings.)
To get benefits, a child must have:
A parent(s) who is disabled or retired and entitled to Social Security benefits; or A parent who died after having worked long enough in a job where he or she paid Social Security taxes. The child also must be:
Unmarried; Younger than age 18; 18-19 years old and a full-time student (no higher than grade 12); or 18 or older and disabled. (The disability must have started before age 22.) |
Top Attorneys in IL
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Zedrick Braden III
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-11-11
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
LAWYERCHICAGO.COM - 773-544-1370
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
David M. Hicks & Associates
Maryville, IL
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-12-11
Donald W. Fohrman & Associates, Ltd.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-09-23
DiCaprio & Associates
Rockford, IL
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-10-25
Barry S. Noeltner, P.C.
College Park, GA
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-07-14
Search Questions and Answers


