Illinois | Health Care Law
Legal Question
Is it legal for a home medical equipment company to repossess medically necessary oxygen equipment because of nonpayment? I am a licensed respiratory therapist and do not want the business I work for to jeopardize my license.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Messutta |
Something doesn't make sense here. You can't provide therapy without that being prescibed, and that usually requires insurance approval (private, medicare or medicaid). So as long as it is approved and the proper channels are followed, this should not be an issue. If you are worried that your employer is not paying for supplies that could be repossessed, generally not because supplies like these are usually rented, not purchased, and there is a refill service, so the more likely scenario is that they don't have the supply you need when you need it... In any event, if you've done everything you're supposed to do, what your employer does should not put your license at risk. With that having been said, anything's possible....but what evidence do you have that the employer is not paying its bills? |
Top Attorneys in IL
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Rosenblat & Associates, Ltd.
Northbrook, IL
Questions Answered: 437
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Belcher Law Office
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 233
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
Harvath Law Offices-INJURY case representation
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Law Office of Paul R. Fine, P.C.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Simms Showers LLP
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Ira Silverstein Attorney at Law
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-20
Favia Law Offices
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-25
Search Questions and Answers


