California | Business Law
Legal Question
Is it legal for a radiology group (mri,ct, us, X-ray) to buy a referring physician a ct scanner in return for MRI business?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Kane |
It could very well likely violate federal and state anti-kickback laws. Various factors go into determining whether it would violate these laws, including whether the physician treats Medicare recipients. If I was representing either the radiology group or the physician, I would carefully go over the details of the transaction to determine if they were violating these or other laws. More information is required to make such a determination, and you are not going to be able to get such a determination in this forum. The criminal and civil penalties can be quite harsh. If you are either of the parties mentioned in the question you should have an attorney review the situation. If you are a competitor there may be step you can take. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


