New Mexico | Criminal Law
Legal Question
is it legal to shoot someone in your house who is unarmed and stealing something
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Aspinwall |
No. It is legal to shoot someone only when you perceive that you or someone else is in danger of death or serious bodily harm. The correct procedure in the situation you describe is to hold the subject, at gun point if necessary, immediately dial 911, and let law enforcement take care of the situation when they arrive. Be a good witness. If he runs away, let him go and be prepared to provide a detailed and accurate description to the responding officers. |
Top Attorneys in NM
Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC
Los Lunas, NM
Questions Answered: 3300
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Law Offices of Dennis W. Montoya
Rio Rancho, NM
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-22
Turner Law Office
Deming, NM
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-17
The Kassakhian Law Office
Gallup, NM
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-15
Khayoumi Law Firm
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-28
Rudolph B. Chavez, Attorney at Law
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
BIKHMAN & VINBAYTEL PC
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
New Mexico Legal Group, P.C.
Albuquerque, NM
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


