Virginia | Family Law
Legal Question
Can I legally leave the father of my child off of the birth certificate and, if so, will this give me sole custody of my child? If I get sole custody, can I still request child support?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Yes, depending upon the policy of the hospital handling your maternity care, you may be able to leave the name of the father off the child's birth certificate, but that in no way will assure that you will have sole custody of the subject child should the matter of custody be contested.
And, yes, once paternity is legally established for this child, you will be legally entitled to pursue child support from the father irrespective of whether or not you've been awarded sole custody. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Law Offices of Paul B. Ward
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 673
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fredrick S. Kaufman, Esquire
Glen Allen, VA
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-28
sheryl shane, attorney at law
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 434
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Attorney at Law
Culpeper, VA
Questions Answered: 172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Wayne E. Comer, Esquire
Dunn Loring, VA
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-11
Search Questions and Answers


