California | Technology Law
Legal Question
Can I legally recording someone without their knowledge in California?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Usually no. If the other person has a reasonable expectation that the conversation will be private (which is usually the case), then it is illegal to record it without his knowledge. That is true whether the conversation is in person, by phone, etc., though different statutes apply in different situations. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Search Questions and Answers


