India  |  Tax Law

question bubble
5/25/11, 11:26 pm

Legal Question


LIC Housing Finance Ltd sanctioned a Housing Loan for a newly constructed House at Chennai on 11/05/2011 in the name of my son aged 23 and in my name aged 56. My son was the applicant and my salary was complemented to enhance the loan amount. Thus, the loan amount was sanctioned for a tenure of 240 months.The loan agreement was signed both of us. The House documents were also registered in both names.

The repayment by EMI is from my son's salary account by Electronic Clearing System on line.

Now, my question is whether I could adjust the EMI repayment as deductions against my salary for the purpose of income tax from this year onwards.

Kindly clarify.

M R SUBRAMANIAM


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search