Georgia  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
2/07/12, 10:48 am

Legal Question


RE: License Reinstatement-Extreme Hardship Conditions

My second DUI in Georgia was sentenced as a first DUI since the prosecutor did not see the second arrest and conviction in 5 years. For that my license was reinstated but suspended again on the oldest case. Court looked at my second DUI as a first conviction. Dept of Driver Services looks at it as a second DUI and requires a hard suspension of a year in Georgia with an inter lock device for 6 months after. My husband just died suddenly in his 40's of a massive coronary and I have 3 kids to support. I have written the DDS for a review for reinstatment as I am rounding 120 days and I have fulfilled all court requirements including ASAM classes which is required by DDS but not ordered by the court. Can you offer any assistance how I can get my license reinstated due to the extreme hardship? No family in state, no licensed driver at home, widowed working parent, need to provide for my kids and drive to/from work, church and groceries. Any suggestions here...for state of Georgia to expedite my license reinstatement? Can I go back to DDS with court order showing it was tried as a first DUI and it is the first incident/arrest for DUI. The other DUI case is closed and had reinstated my license after 120 days. Any suggestions here with my extreme hardship. If court permitted, it might amend the DDS requirements. Thoughts?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search