Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
i live in alabama and my spouse lives in tennessee and she left me without telling me and i have not talked to her in 3 years can i get remarried even though we are not divorced
i live in alabama and my spouse lives in tennessee and she left me without telling me and i have not talked to her in 3 years can i get remarried even though we are not divorced
|
Read More Answered By: William Pfeifer |
No. If you marry someone else while still married to your wife, the new marriage would be void (meaning invalid, or legally nonexistent) and you would be guilty of the criminal offense of bigamy. Rather than create those problems for yourself, just go get a lawyer to draw up a divorce for you. Don't let this situation drag on for years. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Alexander City, AL
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-01-04
► I've had physical custody of my grandson since he was one month old. My daughter...
► I appealed a case that was filed and heard and ruled on in circuit court. the...
► How do I remove father's name from birth certificate (in state of AL)? I have a...
► Can a 3yr old child be taken from a great household with her own bedroom and a...
► My husband and I have been separated for a year. In that time we have started new...
► Can my current husband's income be included in determing child support from my...
► My name is Lindsey i live in Al. along with my husband Eric, as well as my four...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Alabama| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press