Arizona | Employment Law
Legal Question
i live in arizona i have not gotten paid by my former employer for over 3 weeks now is there a possible way for me to get any extra money out of them with out any kind of court procedings
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
First, what you can do is somewhat dependent on the $$$ amount in question. Last I knew wage claims for under $2500 could be reported to the Industrial commission. Claims over that would require a suit. Second, generally, a letter from an attorney would be powerful, especially for this kind of claim because under the case law the employer almost always loses and can be liable for the triple damages unless you have authorized by contract or other writing their withholding of money (usually not the case except for tools). Rare case where this would not work. Third, you could file a Justice Court case (no attorneys allowed under $2500 but for that amount would try Industrial Commission first) and can do yourself in Justice Court up to $10,000.00. Attorneys are allowed for amount $2500 to $10,000 but not unusual not to have - tho do not recommend unless hire attorney to advice behind the scenes. In AZ that is allowed and Justices of the Peace may even award fees if you present the bill. Best bet is, without legal proceedings, is Industrial Commission - wage and hour board or if amount is too large then demand letter from attorney. The problem may turn out to be that the letter is too expensive for the claim. (Basically, the letter is the same whether the claim is for $240.00 or $240,000.00 because the statutes, case law, content and work are the same. Hope this helps. Good luck! If you think you might use us you can contact Tom of my office. Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com follow us on Twitter at DonaldWHudspeth
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
W. Blake Simms, P.C.
Tempe, AZ
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
Search Questions and Answers


