California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/30/12, 1:30 pm

Legal Question


I live in California. Can I take any legal action against someone who has filed for chapter 7 which I was a coapplicant on a credit card with? The card was opened almost 10 years ago and I thought I had cancelled it. The credit card did not carry a balance for almost 8 years until recently my ex whom I had opened the credit with pulled out a 30k cash advance. Now the credit card company is looking out to collect the debt from me. Meanwhile, I have this bankruptcy hanging over my credit when Im not the one who filed for bankruptcy. The only reason I found out about this issue was when just 3 months ago I tried to refinance my home but was denied for this very reason. I need to clear this up and not sure where to begin.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search