Georgia | Health Care Law
Legal Question
I live in Ga. I'm trying to obtain medical records from one doctor to go to another. I've already paid their fees to have copies made. I recieved a call from the billing rep. saying that I still had a balance and they would not release the copies until it was settled. (I stopped treatment with her in May 2010 and they have not sent this to collections or sent me any follow up bills since their agreement to reduce the bill in May 2010.) Do I have any rights under HIPAA to copies of my records in this situation? Unfortunately, she isn't board certified OR a member of the AMA, so I have no recourse there.


