Georgia  |  Juvenile Dependency

question bubble
12/08/11, 1:21 pm

Legal Question


I live in Georgia. I have been trying to move my 17 year old girlfriend out of her house and I know that she needs her parents' consent. Her mom is willing to give consent for her to live elsewhere but she has joint custody of her with her former husband who lives far away. When her mom told her she could move out I helped move her into my friends house. She triggered an alarm in the house and the cops showed up to see who it was and found her there and took her home because she didn't have proof she had consent to live there. They told her mom that she could get in legal trouble if she kicked her dependant out. Could her mom give my girlfriend a legally acceptible form of consent for her to live elsewhere without her distant father having to consent as well? I read that a minor can legally live elsewhere for up to 6 months as long as they give consent and know where the minor is going to live. Is this true?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search