Pennsylvania | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
We live in Philadelphia and gave just over 30 days written notice that we are not staying after our rental lease expires on May 14th. Our apartment complex says that they require 60 days notice and now they say we owe them over $1000 in fees for not notifying them sooner in addition to our last month's rent. This seems outrageous to us since we have been good tenants and it was an honest mistake. It seems like they are just trying to get us for every last cent on our way out. Are they allowed to require 60 day's notice and charge us these fees? Or do we have some legal recourse/justification for not paying?


