Ohio | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was living with a man for 13 years and he recently became disabled in October of last year. I lost my job trying to take care of him. He filed for SSI and he advised me and the lady from SSI to have his checks deposited into my account. He received two checks in April and May. I left him in the middle of May due to family issues with his family. I had his checks stopped from coming into my account.
I have a police detective talking to me now because his family is pressing charges against me for stealing those two checks that were deposited while I was still living with him and taking care of him.
What rights do I have and what can happen?
Thanks
Susie Schmus


